Skip to content
10/01/2013 / Julie

My second, their third – The Pet Blogger Challenge

So, it’s that time of year again. Been looking forward to this. No, really, I have. Time for the pet blogger challenge.

I am a “repeat offender”, so here it comes.

1. How long have you been blogging and provide a link to your post from last year’s Pet Blogger Challenge so we can refresh our memories.

As you can see, the question is how long I’ve been blogging. The answer to this is unclear. I believe wordpress is my 4th or 5th host, and the first I’m happy with. It’s not constantly crashing while I’m blogging, it’s not deleting my previous posts, the templates are nice, no “in your face” ads, it’s fast and easy – once you get to know it, you can have more than one blog, etc.. This blog has been going since the 24th of April, 2011. And last year’s post.

2. What do you consider the most important goals you set out in last year’s post?

Well, I wanted to write more varied blogposts. The blog has been fairly quiet the last 6-7 months. I haven’t really had the motivation to write much, though I have tried to write now and then, and scrapped the posts because I couldn’t make them stay on topic. I worte that my life would be going through changes last year. Bhoy, was I right!

3. Is your current purpose the same?

-If not, what’s different? -If so, how do you feel you’ve met your goals?

My purpose is the same, though I think the blog may take a more personal direction. If the blog is going to survive my current state of mind, it better get ready for more than just my dogs and that life. I have too much running around in my head at the moment. My mood isn’t making it better, but my blog just might.

4. How often do you post?

I used to post on average about 1-2 times a month, and was trying to work my way up from that, but then my mum died, and since then I’ve posted twice.

5. Do you blog on a schedule or as the spirit moves you?

-If you don’t publish on a schedule, why? How do you think your decision affects your audience? How do you know when a topic is “post-worthy?”

I do not blog on schedule. I wouldn’t be able to keep one, I’m not anywhere near that disciplined. I’m sure people, and me to, prefer to follow someone who posts regularly and has new posts often, but that’s not me. I know a topic is post worthy when I manage to sit down and write it. When it can hold my interest, and I can write a post without going all “What the bananas?!” during it, or start doing something else.

I don’t sit down and write a post in 30 min- an hour, it usually takes me 3-4 hours. I never leave it for another day either, because I know I would never pick it up again. I recently deleted drafts I had hanging around since March.

6. How much time do you spend writing your blog per week? How much time visiting other blogs? Share your  tips for staying on top of it all.

I don’t spend much time writing my own blog per week, though of course, that depends. But other people’s blogs I spend a lot of time on. I have 15 blogs I stop by every day to check if they’ve been updated, equally bummed everytime they haven’t. Otherwise I have some semi regulars that get checked a couple of times a week, and then there’s twitter. Twitter where people post indiscriminately, and I can pick what I think sounds awesome.

7. How do you measure the success of a post and of your blog in general (comments, shares, traffic)?

-Do you look strictly at the numbers, or do you have a way of assessing the quality of those interactions?

The success of a post, hmm… I suppose when people comment, that’s fun. And also read. It depends on the post. Some posts I just want people to see, other posts I would like feedback. But it’s a living, breathing beast, and they all just sort of mesh together.

There are a couple of posts that have no comments or shares, but consistently keep getting hits. Almost every day, people stop by those posts, but to date nobody has commented on them. Whether this is good or bad is up to the reader. But it is interesting.

8. If you could ask the pet blogging community for help with one issue you’re having with your blog, what would it be?

I would like people to show that they have been by, this goes for me as well. If I’m stopping by a blog and I like what I’ve read, I’ll comment or press like, or share the post on Twitter. It’s not hard, and it gives the writer a happy, or maybe it’s just me…?

9. What goals do you have for your blog in 2013?

I think the same as last year. Write more often, about other things, different things. And perhaps be more open with myself and the blogging community.

That’s it for this year. I believe I may have been a little moody in this blog, for that I apologise. It’s just the way it is. I’m running my head into the ground these days.

If you want to join in the PBC, press the photo on the top, or if you want to read more blogs, there’s a linky list at the bottom of Leo’s blog.

8 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Jen / Jan 11 2013 06:18

    As pertains to your number 8, I agree, it’s nice to know that people have been by! I’m glad that you want to blog more, and I’m looking forward to it!

  2. Bren / Jan 11 2013 14:05

    Hi Julie! Wanted to return the flyby and just say thanks for stopping by Pibbles & Me. I’m subscribing to your bloggy and look forward to reading more so ….. Get Motivated! 🙂 hehe

  3. kenzohw / Jan 11 2013 16:33

    Writing more often about other and different things is great. You don’t have to stick to one subject. As a writer, you can express what you feel is important. We are just along for the ride (just a peek of it).It will make your blog more personal and in the end that is also what attracts people to come back and read more.

    To have people show they have come by is a tough one LOL When you read some of the other enries, which you probably did, you’ll see it is something we all struggle with.

    It was a tough year for you, hope you’ll have a great 2013!
    Hovie Hugs from Kenzo & Viva.

  4. Coralee / Jan 11 2013 21:28

    Enjoyed your comments; although it sounds as if you’ve had quite a distressing year.
    Best Wishes for 2013!

  5. AJ / Jan 12 2013 01:28

    I’m really the worst at commenting… I always feel at a loss for words! But since you specifically asked: I’ve been here! Haha, all the best in 2013!

  6. I’m sorry 2012 was a rough year for you and I hope that 2013 turns out much better. Thanks so much for taking part in the Challenge again this year – it’s nice to hear that other people look forward to it, too. I agree that it only takes a second to share something on Twitter or Google+. Why do I not think to do that more often? I’ll work on that for the next year and I’ll look forward to seeing you write about whatever strikes your fancy. Life is life – sometimes it can’t be all about the dogs (though, don’t tell them that!)

  7. Tegan / Jan 16 2013 11:53

    Just showing that I’ve been by! 😉 In all seriousness, I’m so sorry to hear about the passing of your mum, and if you decided to put your blog on hold (or keep it on hold) until you’re ready, let it be. Do whatever you need to to grieve – your blog isn’t going anywhere and it’ll always be ready, whenever you are.

  8. Colby / Jan 23 2013 11:42

    I hope 2013 turns out to be a great year for you. I’m going to try and do better with my sharing this year. I’m going to try and do a weekly blog roundup as well as share more on my social media channels. It does really only take a few seconds.

    Best of luck with your goals this year!

Leave a Reply

