Skip to content
11/01/2012 / Julie

Pet Blogger Challenge 2012 – Newbie me

See here’s something that doesn’t happen very often. Two blogs in under a week! Huzzah!

Pet Blogger Challenge

Challenge Questions #1: For bloggers who haven’t participated before

1. When did you begin your blog?

Let’s see now.. First post was posted on 24th of April 2011. It was just a Hello post. Called Hullo! (I was watching alot of “A Bit of Fry and Laurie” at the time)

2. What was your original purpose for starting a blog?

It was meant to be a place where I could write about the things I contemplate and find interesting. Where I could dwell on things and mull things over without necessarily coming to a conclusion. It was also set up for me to improve my English.

3. Is your current purpose the same? If not, what’s different? If so, how do you feel you’ve met your goals?

To an extent, I suppose the purpose is the same. My second and third posts are about the russ and the 17th of May. But apart from those two, and one about Roald Dahl, I think every post has been about dogs in some way. In later time it has also become more and more about my life with the dogs. I try to come up with posts about other things, but I never have the motivation to actually get on to WordPress and start writing. I’ve now got WordPress on my phone, which should change things a bit.

I try to write about anything, but as my following are mostly dog people and I am a dog person, I’ve stuck to that.

4. Do you blog on a schedule or as the spirit moves you?

If the former, how often — and what techniques do you use to stick to it?

If the latter, do you worry about… well, whatever you might worry about (e.g. losing traffic, losing momentum)?

I do not blog on a schedule, no. Not at all. I blog when I’ve got something to blog about, or when I feel it’s been a while. I keep an eye on the stats on wordpress (as well as the search hits (“unilingual idiot” hasn’t been a hit for a while now)), and I find them fascinating, but I don’t worry about them. As long as the English blog’s got more visitors than my Norwegian blog, I’ll be content.

5. Are you generating income from your blog?

No. Who’d want to sponsor me? I’d be a horrible thing to sponsor.

6. What do you like most about blogging in general and your blog in particular (bragging is good!)?

I like being to put my thoughts out there without being worried about my parents reading it. I know it’s a bit childish, but sometimes I want to say things here first. I usually end up telling them most things anyway. Intentionally, or unintentionally.

It also frees up space in my mind. Put things down and let it go.

People don’t just drop in and read. I know quite alot do that as well, but a high number leaves a comment. Makes you feel like people actually are enjoying your blogging.

What I like about my blog? Hmm.. The pictures and the landscape I live in. I truly love Norway. It’s gorgeous, quiet and easy.

7. What do you like least?

That there is no spell check while I’m writing. Reading this after it is posted, I will probably find a few things that need to be corrected, and I will have to go back in and edit. Not particularly happy with that, but I’ll survive.

8. How do you see your blog changing/growing in 2012?

Well, my life will be going through changes, so the blog will probably also see some changes. Cryptic, I know…

Perhaps do some more varied blogposts, not just the same things over and over. A bit more of the things I actually do think about. Now that it’s on my phone (it’s great!!) I can actually pick it up and start wirting when I’m thinking about it. I did this thing last spring where I wrote down topics for blogposts and outlined them before writing them in a post. Kept this pad on me. Think I used it once. But variation, I think must be the key word from now on. And perhaps a little more frequently.

So that’s it for now. Press the picture at the top if you want to join in the Pet Blogger Challenge. Take a look at, for instance Kenzo the Hovawart’s blog for the entire list of entries and his own entry.

12 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. kenzohw / Jan 11 2012 00:58

    Improve your English? Even more? Maybe I am not the right person to judge, but your English is pretty perfect to me. I like your blog a lot and loved your series where we could follow “Eso” and how you worked with his fears.

    We all seem to start blogging to vent our thoughts and ideas. Who knows were it will go? Good luck with your new adventures, and may your blog follow.

    I am with you on Norway. Living in such a beautiful place must give so much inspiration. It must have been easy for Grieg 🙂

    • Julie / Jan 11 2012 02:25

      I suppose my English has improved. I’m not making as many typos as I did in the beginning. I should do an update on Eso (and Ella) soon. Just need some more info on them both.

      Listening to Grieg in Norway you can feel the music follow the landscape. It’s wonderful. Morning Mood and Hall of the Mountain King are fabulous enchanting tunes.

      It’s nice to know you like my blog! 🙂

  2. Jen / Jan 11 2012 04:03

    Eep, it’s Pet Blogger challenge day?

    Fun to read your answers, though 😉

    • Julie / Jan 12 2012 20:08

      Enjoyed yours as well:)

  3. Pup Fan / Jan 11 2012 22:13

    Very nice to have found your blog through the Challenge! I agree with Kenzo – your English seems pretty good to me!

    • Julie / Jan 12 2012 20:10

      Thank you, and right back at you!

  4. Amy@GoPetFriendly / Jan 12 2012 02:22

    I never would have guess that English wasn’t your first language! You have done a wonderful job – better than some native English speakers. Thanks for joining the Challenge!

    • Julie / Jan 12 2012 20:12

      Thank you. And thank you for starting it, it was fun!

  5. Pamela / Jan 15 2012 22:00

    Loved your picasa photo album. Some beautiful images.

    Your English, like most Norwegians I’ve met, is better than most Americans. But if you’re interested in a spell checker, you can get a WordPress plugin called After the Deadline. It’s not perfect and it makes me crazy. But it slows me down enough to check things on my own before a post is published.

    Good luck in 2012.

    • Julie / Jan 17 2012 00:07

      Thank you! Glad you liked my photos!

      We do have a lot of English in school. Personally I started in second grade, but I’m also an avid follower of British television. Without subtitles. Subtitles make me a little crazy.

      I’ll take a look at the plugin. It will be good to avoid typos. Thanks!

  6. Colby / Jan 23 2012 11:20

    I haven’t tried blogging with my phone yet. I think I’ll try downloading the wordpress app and see if I can hammer out a few posts using my phone. I’ve also been thinking about getting an iPad for blogging, but it’s a bit expensive. Maybe I’ll give it a try when the iPad 3 is released.

    Best of luck to you in 2012!

Trackbacks

  1. My second, their third – The Pet Blogger Challenge « Moody Mudi

Leave a Reply

