Skip to content
03/07/2011 / Julie

Eso day 6 – Downtown clicking

Downtown was our goal today. I filled my pockets with a whole bunch of treats and the clicker, and we took the road less travelled by cars to get there. On the way we walked past a new wall that I sent Eso up on without the support of Bajnok. He handled it very well. He thought it was quite fun.

The first thing I did when we got to the city was sit down outside the center. We just sat there and watched the traffic and people pass by. Whenever he gave me something I liked, I gave him a click and a treat. Pretty soon he was sitting quietly and calmly, so I decided it was time to move in to town. There wasn’t a lot of traffic in town today, but there were sounds and noises he didn’t like. We started to walk in a slow pace and his body language soon changed for the better.

We walked one time to the end and back before I decided to start more heavy training outside the entrance of the shopping centre. This time I didn’t want him to have Bajnok right next to him, so I left Bajnok tied up. Eso was not happy about this place. Every piece of his body language showed he was stressed, but he was still curious about the people walking by. After a few clicks of him interacting with me and checking out things, he started to relax.

The biggest problem was people. They are scary. Cars are OK. No one came to say hi today. I suppose it is because there were so few people today. Hopefully there will be more people if I go down there on Monday.

On our way back we met a dog in a garden. Eso moved away quickly, but when he saw that Bajnok took contact and that everything was good, he too went over and sniffed the dog through the fence. It took him less than 30 seconds to decide to greet the Bernese.

As we walked home I realised that Eso was looking expectantly at every stone wall we passed.  At one point he actually tried to jump up on one. But not only that, he was walking further in front than before and leaning less on Bajnok. This is progress! At home he is much more mischievous. He has stolen shoes, jumped about, and he barks less. We have much more work to do, but I’m liking what I’m seeing!

Here’s the film from the “playdate” yesterday.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. kenzohw / Jul 3 2011 13:54

    I really enjoy your daily reports about Eso. But I am wondering … how did he came to life with you and why do you mention you have limited time? Is he a foster?

Leave a Reply

