Skip to content
18/06/2011 / Julie

The versatile blogger

I’ve been given an award. Who knew in a million years that I would ever get an award. I didn’t. Never even crossed my mind! I’ve put out 5 posts in this blog. Thank you so much Jen, at The Elka Almanac.

Now, the rules state that I have to list seven things about myself (I’ll try and not slip into talking about the dogs), and then pass the award on to 15 new or newly discovered bloggers.

1. I will turn 20 on the 19th. Have been training dogs for almost 7 of these years, owned dogs for 18 of them. Got into agility when I was 13, which really sparked my interest and set my off in a positive direction with my eldest dog.

2. Recently cut about a foot of my hair since I was getting very tired of hair in my mouth all the time. This has made a lot of people around me a bit disappointed in me, since they liked my old hair. I am however very happy with this new hairdo.

3. I am not easily stressed when other people are stressed. And I’m pretty good at taking things as they come as long as I’m well fed and have had enough to drink (water, not alcohol). My breeder (or rather, Bajnok’s breeder) often gets a bit upset with me at dog shows, because I won’t get stressed. My philosophy is that things’ll work themselves out, and it isn’t the end of the world if they don’t.

4. If things are planned, I might forget them, unless I have paid to go there. It’s just the way it is. Easily distracted by shiny objects, you might say. People have to remind me of things for me to remember. The phone calendar is an amazing invention!

5. I am not a people person! I do not like looking people in the eyes, I am not good at faking interest and I am not comfortable in crowds of people were I’m expected to know them, like family gatherings. If there’s any sort of distraction that will give me an excuse not to look at a person, I will take it. If my dog does something, if there’s a sound, if I can be eating something. Anything! My eyes might also stray in a conversation, to a person’s ears, nose, neck, hair, forehead. I am not comfortable staring at people’s eyes. A couple of people, and crowds of dog people is ok, ’cause there’s always an excuse to look away. There’s usually a dog nearby.

6. My head functions in English. Whenever I talk to myself or go through a thought process, it’s in English. even though I’m Norwegian and my first language is Norwegian. I blame Twitter, and the next point.

7. I LOVE British television, and don’t know what I would’ve done without youtube. I don’t love all of it. There’s quite a lot of shite, but there is an awfull lot of good British telly. My absolute favourite is “Doctor Who”, and I’m working on my Whovian title. But British panelshows are some of the world’s greatest. There’s “Moch the Week”, “Would I Lie To You”, “8 out of 10 cats”, “Nevermind the Buzzcocks” and one of the greatest ever: “QI”. What is great about these shows, is that they often feature comedians, British censur allow a lot, and they are funny!

The last on was a tiny bit off topic, but it happens..

The 15 bloggers:

1. Clicktrickdogs

2. Canine Kinship

3. TTouchTrainer

4. Nick Jones -Dog Behaviour Blog

5. Reinventing Melissa

6. Enjoy Your Dog

7. Healthy Dog for Life

8. Trainabull

9. Bob the Blog

10. Born2Run Collie

11. Rescued Insanity

12. The Balanced Canine

13. Cold Wet Nose

14. Slatewood Mudi

15. No Dog About It

So there we are. Wish mentions of a blog worked like mentions on twitter. I spend too much time on twitter… This was fun!

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Kristine / Jun 18 2011 13:18

    Thank you so much for the award! It was really nice of you to think of me.

    It’s so interesting you think in English despite living in Normay. It makes me feel like even more of a unilingual idiot. Being Canada, I really should make more of an attempt to learn French. I may be better at that than at ever learning to speak “dog”. 😛

    Agility changed the way I thought about dogs and training as well. Even if I never actually compete I am so grateful I discovered the sport.

    I love your “dogs and geeks” url!

  2. Janet Finlay / Jun 19 2011 12:49

    Thank you so much for the award! Will try to “pay it forward” in the next few days.

    I really appreciate you thinking of me. 🙂

  3. Jen / Jun 19 2011 17:46

    I’m glad you were pleased! And happy birthday!

    (I can understand not being a people person. It’s kind of why I’m now a dog/dog blog person. Through the screen is much easier than figuring out eye contact and proper tone of voice.)

  4. Sue / Jun 22 2011 12:58

    Thank-you for the award! It came as a total surprise to me, I also like your blog, so I am going to link it on mine as a fellow Mudi fancier blog! 🙂

  5. Beverley Cuddy / Jul 9 2011 00:07

    Thank you for the award, I am sorry I’m so slow saying thank you but if you have been reading the blog you’ll know it’s been an action- packed month!

  6. Nick Jones / Jul 28 2011 17:40

    Thank you so much for mentioning me at number four! 🙂

    Loved your Mudi updates. Great photography also. Keep up your good work. The world needs you.

Leave a Reply

